November 2018 Member Spotlight

Wed, 10/31/2018 - 09:28
by Sandy Crayton

Alex Georgis

  1. How long have you been in the industry?  I’ve been working in the Insurance Industry for about 5 years.

  2. What is your current position and employer?  I am a Product Management Analyst at Argo Group US.

  3. How long did it take you to obtain your CPCU?  It took me about 5 months.

  4. What do you like most about your job?  I like being able to see some of the more exotic risks that our company writes and being able to determine how exactly to make the language work to make it happen, especially on the non-admitted side.  Sometimes these risks can be really unique and it’s a lot of fun being able to make the puzzle pieces fit together from a policy perspective.

  5. Why or how did you start in the insurance industry?  I was coming back from an Investment Banking stint in China and couldn’t find much work around the Richmond area and wanted to stay close to my family.  I continued to look around and at that point found my way into the insurance industry!

  6. Do you have any advice for anyone thinking of getting the designation?  Just decide that you want to do it and then make it happen.  It’s really easy to find your goals floating away from you as you get lost in everyday life.  Make the commitment, make the plan to set aside time to study, and then follow through with it.  The CPCU is a test of your fortitude more than anything.  It really separates those that want success and those that will do what they need to in order to achieve it.

  7. What book did you read last?  Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy by Sheryl Sandberg

  8. What is your favorite restaurant?  There is no way I could pick just one!  I will say that I was in DC this weekend and Farmers Fishers Bakers had a fantastic brunch that really impressed me.

  9. What college/university did you attend?  VCU for my undergrad and then VCU again for my MBA.

  10. Tell us something about yourself outside of your insurance career.  My favorite things are eating, traveling, and exercising.  I try to travel at least once a month or so to a city outside of Richmond and spend time walking around on foot and exploring the area to take it all in.   This really helps me out since I tend to eat 5 or 6 meals a day when I travel to a new place!  Each area tends to have its own unique and wonderful character that can only be fully experienced through its food and streets.  For me, the best part about living is being able to share and experience how other people live.  Now that I have a puppy, she travels along with me and my fiancé wherever we go - and she probably loves all the food and travel more than I do!

   

 


Comments (0)